Coming Out of the Broom Cupboard

Everyone knows I love Harry Potter, but today I was thrilled to find this excellent review which seems to serve as the Wondering Preacher’s coming out party.

Good literature that stands as a beacon of light against the dark Hypermodern (popularly known as Postmodern) mantra — “There is no good or evil, only power…” — voiced by Lord Voldemort himself, is something you would think Christians everywhere would be excited about (or at least not so vehemently bitter toward).

Glad I stumbled upon this post today while perusing WordPress’s Freshly Pressed.

Power, Love and Harry Potter

Shhh!  Don’t Tell.  I’ve been reading Harry Potter

I have just finished reading the Harry Potter stories again.  Now I’m ready for the movies of the last book.  Oh dear, that’s a confession that’s going to get me into trouble, but there you go.

I was impressed again with JK Rowling’s writing.  I like her style, her use of words, her humour.  She seems to know young people very well and effectively describes their fears and their progress through life.  The magical world she created is also quite extraordinary.  It’s not on the majestic scale of JRR Tolkien but it’s believable and it draws one in.  There are one or two things one might quibble with or want to know more about but, like good science fiction writers, she gives you enough to enjoy and lightly skims over the bits that should not be examined too closely. It is truly a magical world.  Owls deliver post; witches and wizards really do fly on brooms; and they even have a Quidditch world cup—a game played on brooms.

The great theme that runs throughout the series of course is that of good versus evil and, specifically, in the form of power versus love.  There are instruments and positions of power; if any of them are sought for themselves alone, for the good of the holder alone, they will corrupt.  The old adage, ‘power corrupts; absolute power corrupts absolutely’ is explored throughout the series.

We fear weakness.  We want to be strong or to be… Read the rest of this excellent post.

This entry was posted in Books (and other stuff) Worth Reading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Coming Out of the Broom Cupboard

  1. Ginger says:

    Wingardium LevioSA.

    • Mason says:

      I like the comparisons, but would not have got the Dumbledore story from the 1st 4 movies, nor Harry’s love for all people, especially not in bulk of script.

      • reneamac says:

        Yeah, the movies are wonderful, but can never be as rich as the books. (You should definitely get your hands on them!) I think the movies do a great job because they hint at these kinds of themes in ways that are very genuine and honorable toward the books; but it’s easier to pick up those hints if you come to the movies with the fuller context of the books in your arsenal. As far as Dumbledore’s story is concerned, much of the mystery that surrounds the great Dumbledore is made more clear in the 7th book, so we’ll see what they do with it in the movies; in fact a lot is filled in in the 7th book, which is why they’ve had to make the 7th book into two movies. I’m interested to see how it all plays out!

  2. mselizondo says:

    I absolutely loved the Harry Potter books when I was in jr. high, and then I jumped on the Christian bandwagon that said we should hate all things HP. I’ve regretted getting rid of my books (I had the first 4) since the year after I dumped them.

    Michael and I just finished watching all of the movies that are out now, and we loved them! It made me want to read the books, and the first two should come in the mail any day now.

    I still think that little kids shouldn’t watch the movies or read the books. But I’ve read Ted Dekker books that have creeped me out MUCH more than the HP books did, and I think the Lord of the Rings movies are scarier than HP. The difference is that those two authors/screenwriters weren’t gearing their books for kids. Other than that, I’m excited for the final movies, and I can’t wait to re-read the first 4 books and read the other 3 for the first time.

speak what you feel: leave a comment

