Question Tuesdays

I’m starting a new weekly post on Tuesdays where I ask you the random things that often cross my mind (as opposed to ‘Question Tuesdays’ like, Why does Tuesday exist? What’s so great about Tuesdays anyway?).

There will be none of these kinds of questions either...

This new line of posts requires your participation. No, really; it’s required. If I see you’ve visited and didn’t comment, I’m going to track you down! Okay, so I don’t actually know how to do that… and… I guess it’s okay to sometimes not have a response. But seriously, if no one responds, then Question Tuesdays will be as pointless as questioning Tuesdays.

So…

Today’s question:

What’s your political affiliation and why? Democrat, Republican, Tea-Party-er, Independent, Libertarian, combination thereof, none of the above…? And do you find that most of your peers share that affiliation or not?

This entry was posted in Question Tuesdays and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Question Tuesdays

  1. Christine says:

    I usually self-identify as a Libertarian; in general, I prefer limited government. What’s great is that there is a broad spectrum of Libertarianism, and most Libertarians prefer government involvement in a few select areas. For me, government should step in to help and defend the helpless and defenseless, as well as take care of both internal and external national security. Of course, problems arise in the ways that different people define “help” as well as who we define as “helpless,” leading to great differences of opinion within libertarianism on certain social issues. However, in general I find libertarianism to be more internally consistent than contemporary conservativism, which, on one hand, promotes limited government and, on the other, asks the government to make legislation about who may marry or (in the 1960s, as these ideas were taking shape) who may legally purchase oral contraceptives. This ideological contradiction turns me away from Republicanism in general.

    • reneamac says:

      This is a really well thought out response. Thanks for sharing, Chris. I think you make an excellent point about contemporary (and thank you for making that important distinction) Republicanism’s ideological inconsistencies. This is something I don’t think is often given much careful consideration.

  2. Val says:

    I really don’t know. I’m extremely uncomfortable identifying with any of these camps! I suppose I’m one of those folks who never vote according to party lines, but rather on individuals and specific pieces of legislation.

    That’s not quite worth two cents, but the threat behind the intro really put the fear in me! 😉

    • reneamac says:

      Thanks, Val! Glad you responded. (I know where you live! ;)) I identify quite a bit with your position (so I certainly think it’s worth at least a nickel). I think regardless of one’s affiliation it’s important to consider the contexts you mention.

  3. susan says:

    well, I have to admit…government is not my favorite subject. I am thankful to live in a country marked by freedom of expression. I am thnakful that “we the people” have a vote. I know God has placed government authorities in my life and He is in control, and that I have a civic duty to be responsible so I try to look at the person/position and not at the party. I have; however, noticed a trend in life that applies to the political situation in the US…we seem to swing from the right to the left every few years or so. We are fickle people. Fortunately, our God is not and He is on the throne and He knows what He is about. PS I only left a note because I know you would have been able to track me down…love, mom

    • reneamac says:

      Thanks for commenting even though politics isn’t an enjoyable subject for you (it isn’t my favorite either). I think it’s important to be able to dislike politics and to feel ambiguous about it. It seems as though a lot of people believe it’s everyone’s Christian duty to be highly involved, and that just isn’t appropriate considering all our various personalities and interests and so forth. Neither is politics the only or best way to engage and influence culture; that’s a popular myth too.

      You’re right too about our incessant swinging on the proverbial pendulum. It can be exhausting. Another reason, perhaps, to reconsider our whole system instead of feeling unequivocally obligated do our part in this one.

  4. G says:

    “What’s your political affiliation and why?”
    Republican; because they seem to do the most to curb abortions. I can live w/ the Republican’s “ideological inconsistencies” and the fact that I mostly care/vote surrounding one issue. Babies can live w/ that too.

    “And do you find that most of your peers share that affiliation or not?”
    Peer? I prefer to think that I’m unequaled in the universe… Ba-zing-ga.
    Yes, most of my peers are Republicans as well; however, some do not vote at all.

    • reneamac says:

      Interesting; thanks. I’m genuinely curious, what is the attitude of Republicanism toward these little ones after they’re born?

  5. Josh says:

    Independent. Ideologically, I’m probably more to the left; however, I wholeheartedly agree that government isn’t necessarily the solution to many of our problems, and indeed perhaps not the best when it is one of the options. I also am firmly committed to in that regard accountability, which means that practically I tend to side with the libertarians more often than not. Their anti-government sentiments tend to be healthy in my opinion, as well as their commitment to individual freedom, their suspicion of the practicality of idealism, and their focus albeit poorly on the rule of law.

    • reneamac says:

      Thanks, Josh. It seems you have a rather nuanced position, which I think is good. I’d be interested to hear more about the Libertarian focus on the rule of law and why it is poor. (I’m not entirely sure what the phrase means: my political un-savy: hence the original question. :))

  6. Wow, the first question you ask is about politics? Why don’t you cover me in honey and toss me naked into a bee hive while you’re at it? 🙂

    So, according to Facebook my political views are “Less government, less taxes.” I want as little government as possible (while still performing the important things that require a government) and I want that government to be as poor and impotent as we can make it. Also, I think every politician should be required to read the unabridged ‘Les Miserables’ and write me a 20 page paper about it that I must approve before they can take office. (Anyone who just watches the musical get assigned to Russia.) Furthermore, in my monarchy, my face should be on every coin – both sides – and such coins should not be allowed to touch the ground for threat of treason. Pop music will be banned and so will Nicolas Cage films. The Apple company will be put on trial for overcharging their customers for below-average products that only come in one color (which happens to match the paint in every dentist’s office).

    I hope that answers your question.

    • reneamac says:

      I know; probably not the best choice; it was just on my brain. I really ought to learn to filter better. Oh well, too late.

      I like the idea of keeping government as poor and impotent as possible; it seems the goal of this is the warding off of corruption.

      I also like your wonderful literature assignment. Let’s definitely do that.

speak what you feel: leave a comment

