What’s your take?

Are the Worship Wars basically over, or are they still raging?

This entry was posted in Question Tuesdays and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to What’s your take?

  1. cpiep says:

    As evidence for either the Worship Wars being over or my ignorance, I actually had to look up the term. Once I discovered the basic context, I thought the word choice of “War” seemed a bit dramatic. I certainly have my preferences for worship music (Indelible Grace), but I would have a hard time pointing out “false worship” in the same way one could point out “false teaching.”

  2. cpiep says:

    Therefore, while a war of sorts may have been waged only a short time ago, I submit that they are largely over.

    • reneamac says:

      I think that’s generally the consensus. And I’m glad; though I’m not sure there’s been very much effort toward healing/reconciliation. Perhaps our younger generation doesn’t know it’s even needed.

  3. Chuck says:

    I think that most congregations, that demanded one particular style, or the other, or the often awkward and occasionally pulled off well combination of traditional choir & band, who experienced the turmoil through in the late 90’s and the early part of the 00’s have seen a this discussion calm down quite significantly. I imagine that churches pushed one way or the other, and some compromised, gave ground, or sadly split over the matter, and now churches have to deal with the fallout of those decisons more than continuing to battle over the same issue. I imagine that you probably couldn’t call it a “war” any more.

    I feel like at this point, most congregations have made adjustments one way or another to accommodate the preferred style of music that their audience prefers. And that’s what we need to remember this is in the majority of instances: a preference for musical styles between generations. A mature outlook on this from the perspective of both younger and older believers, in that no one style of music is right or wrong if it is presented to the Lord in reverence, and used in leading and encouraging people in their walk with the Lord, will go along way in ensuring that any dispute in the future is handled in a better manner.

    Musical styles have changed over the history of the church and will continue to do so until Christ comes back for His Church. What’s important, is that a believer of any age not be confused into thinking that the idea of worship is just simply a musical style. That and Christians should engage different mediums & styles in the arts from a Biblical perspective, doing everything as unto the Lord, rather than confusing difference of opinion for irreverence or relativity.

    • reneamac says:

      Thanks, Chuck. I particularly like your statement: “No one style of music is right or wrong if it is presented to the Lord in reverence, and used in leading and encouraging people in their walk with the Lord.”

      I think fallout is an apt description for many places. I wonder if our younger generation, in general, understands that there’s any fallout at all, any need for reconciliation. I feel many of the older generation in my church family have merely given up, tired of not being (feeling) listened to.

  4. Rhett & Valerie says:

    I’m not sure a discussion on hymns vs. contemporary worship songs are really very relevant anymore, but it does seem like there are folks out there who are still very opinionated on these things. Thankfully, I haven’t run into very many church leaders in that position, though.

    Seems like other forms of contemporary vs. traditional worship forms are taking the stage now. Albs or collars? Liturgy or free-flowing? Spontaneous prayers or written ones? These issues seem to be much more on folks’ radars these days. Just a cursory thought!

    -V

    • reneamac says:

      Interesting; thanks for bringing up these other dialectics because those aren’t discussions, of course, in very many of my present circles. It’s always something, isn’t it?

  5. Sharyl says:

    One of my profs here at Truett wrote a book about it.

    http://www.amazon.com/Americas-Worship-Wars-Terry-York/dp/156563490X

    • reneamac says:

      Thanks, Sharyl. I like the reconciliation York offers highlighted in the reviewer’s notes. What were your thoughts on the book/on the issue?

speak what you feel: leave a comment

