Question Tuesday: Stories & Characters

Who is (one of) your favorite novel or movie character(s)? What is it about them that makes them your favorite?

Ginny Weasley is my favourite!

This entry was posted in Question Tuesdays and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Question Tuesday: Stories & Characters

  1. Vicky Austin in the Meet the Austins series. 🙂 I feel an affinity… same initials, same last name. Same awesomely awkward and precocious teenagerhood.

    In other ways, there isn’t an affinity and I want to be more like her. I’m thankful for Madeline L’Engle’s creation of relatable female characters.

    • reneamac says:

      I like Ginny for the same reasons. Except, of course, for the similarity in name you share with Vicky.

  2. Adam Jones says:

    It’s Sherlock Holmes. He solves problems by thinking while everyone else is considering how the problem makes them feel.

  3. Brian says:

    From my two favorite novels: Jeremiah Land (from Leif Enger’s “Peace Like a RIver”) and Sydney Carton (from Charles Dickens’s “A Tale of Two Cities”)

  4. reneamac says:

    Very classic choices so far–in the best sense!

  5. Jo Marsh, Anne of Green Gables, Beatrice from “Much Ado About Nothing”, and Elizabeth Bennet. Full of fire, wit, and humanity. These are my “princesses” – way more fun than Cinderella.

    • reneamac says:

      What a great list! And you’re absolutely right, way more fun (and human) than Disney!

      He that hath a beard is more than a youth, and he that hath no beard is less than a man; and he that is more than a youth is not for me, and he that is less than a man… I am not for him!

  6. Kate Watson says:

    Funny that someone mentioned Eliza Bennet, because I (though I’m female) was just thinking, Mr. Darcy. I resonate with his character in that I struggle with pride, and when it gets the best of me I default to written communication to keep from becoming overly-emotional and tongue tied. My pride leads me to want to “set the record straight” when I should let things go, but my people-pleasing desire makes me want to make amends just as badly.

    Puddleglum is by far one of my favorite characters ever. The way that CS Lewis crafted him with a character so negative, yet still so lovable and genuinely good-hearted is so funny to me. He’s negative, but not at all bad or rotten in any way. The little girl inside of me still wants to meet a real-live Marsh Wiggle someday.

    Ransom from CS Lewis’ space trilogy is also one of my favorites. The love that he has for the art of language, the sincerity he has before God, and the boldness he has before man. Ugh, he’s just such a great representation I think of what we all want to be as followers of Christ. The way that he slowly battled for the woman’s soul in Perelandra completely changed my view of The Fall. The idea that the Evil One didn’t just slither up to Eve one day and tell her once to eat the fruit, but slowly and strategically over a long period of time convinced her that God was wrong, and that He didn’t love her. Still makes me shudder. But, Ransom stuck it out and in love endured the nastiness of evil to convince her of God’s goodness.

    • reneamac says:

      Wow, great choices, Kate! And very unorthodox and even obscure Lewis character picks. Very nice indeed.

      Stories have immense power to shape our worldview, and part of the reason they do is due to well-written characters. We identify with them, even Marsh Wiggles, and learn about ourselves as well as others.

      Thanks for joining in, Kate.

speak what you feel: leave a comment

