Question Tuesday: Piercings

Every Tuesday we gather here at Speak What We Feel to discusses questions of life and faith to grow together and sharpen our perspectives. Today’s question:

Do body piercings have an ethos that our Christianity ought to consider?

(I’ll weigh in more on this in Thursday’s post, so stay tuned.)

See also this related post on Christian fashion ethos by my good friend Christine.

This entry was posted in Question Tuesdays and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Question Tuesday: Piercings

  1. Val says:

    I can’t watch the video right now because I’m at work, as I usually am when commenting on your blog. 🙂

    My inclination is mostly to say “nah.” I don’t think there’s any convincing reason Biblically to be anti-body-piercing.

    However, I’m fairly ignorant about the “text” of piercings (despite having had piercings in other places besides my ears myself–ahem ahem). For some folks, there may be an ethos of self-mutilation involved that I think Christians should probably steer away from. But it’s the kind of thing that’s so relative to so many people, that I’d be hesitant to take a hard line on that.

    -Val

    • reneamac says:

      You bring up a valuable part of thinking through this issue: text, or context. This is what I was hoping would come into the conversation. Well done. 🙂 Most Christians, on both sides of the issue, make a blanket approval or disapproval without considering various possible, and often individual, contexts such as: financial responsibility, medical safety, and the ethos of certain types of piercings.

speak what you feel: leave a comment

