Question Tuesday: What are you reading?

What’s on your reading list for 2012?

I’ll go first. My goal is to finish The Disciplined Heart: Love, Destiny and Imagination before the start of the spring semester because when the term starts, I will have plenty on my (assigned) reading list.

I’m about half way through The Disciplined Heart, and am enjoying it and learning a lot. The premise of the book is that genuine love in all its various forms… neighbor love, friend love, romantic love, marital love, and so forth… provides insight into the loved one’s destiny (or true self and Kingdom-oriented paths through his or her life), whereas love’s counterfeits—“infatuation, manipulation, and sentimentality”—create false notions of the self of the other which inhibit his or her Kingdom Path.

It should be no problem to finish… but… I’ve also been voraciously listening to the audiobook versions of Windchaser and Windfall: the first two books in a series about the various adventures of three best friends when they discover a magical island. I’m completely sucked in… again.

What about you? You may not have a reading plan for the whole year (I don’t… though it won’t be long before I’ll have to for my field exams…).

But what books are you reading now? And what’s on your radar?

This entry was posted in Question Tuesdays and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Question Tuesday: What are you reading?

  1. I have 3 going right now. Rath and I are listening to Brian McLaren’s “The Story We Find Ourselves In.” I’m reading Scot McKnight’s “The King Jesus Gospel” and “Ancient Christian Devotional: A Year of Weekly Readings (Lectionary Cycle B)” edited by Thomas C. Oden and Cindy Crosby.

  2. Are the two Krissi Dallas books on Audible?

    • reneamac says:

      It looks like Audible has the abridged version of Windchaser (which is crazy to me; how do you abridge a 300-page novel?) and the unabridged Windfall.

      http://www.audible.com/search/ref=sr_topbox_1

      iTunes has the full versions of both. And when you buy the books from the publisher (TatePublishing.com) you get the audiobooks free! I don’t know, but that might also be the case when you buy the books from Amazon; it’d be worth asking.

      I’m jealous of your reading list. Thanks for sharing it. 🙂

      • I’m kind of wondering if it’s not really “abridged” because we decided not to do any “abridged” versions (according to my contract…Ha.) Might be a misnomer?? I’m going to check on that… 🙂

        • Ok, just to follow up… the Windchaser audiobook is NOT abridged. (I thought that sounded wrong.) It was incorrectly labeled because that’s the default… Anyway, they’re working on fixing that! But just know that any audiobooks out there are the COMPLETE version. I know because I read them completely! (And it’s in my CONTRACT.) LOL. 🙂

  3. I’m hoping to finish up “Total Church” by Chester and Timmis in the next month and have a few books stacked up on my nightstand:
    “The Meaning of Marriage” by Dr. Tim Keller
    “Girls on the Edge: The Four Factors Driving the New Crisis for Girls-Sexual Identity, the Cyberbubble, Obsessions, Environmental Toxins” by Dr. Leonard Sax
    “One Thousand Gifts” by Ann Voskamp
    Fiction wise we are going to start reading outloud “One Thousand and One Nights” (Arabian Nights)
    Sounds like Windchaser needs to be on my list too!

    • reneamac says:

      Reading Arabian Nights outloud together, huh? If I remember rightly, it gets pretty sexy in places. Have fun with that. 🙂

      The others on your list look good too, especially, Girls on the Edge; you’ll have to fill me in on that one. And you should definitely add the Phantom Island series to your list. They’re WONDERFUL, easy, fun reads.

  4. I can’t believe you’re listening to me READ those books to you aloud!! AHHH! That’s hilarious. Glad you’re enjoying them… Especially since your valued opinion and endorsement mean so much to me. 🙂 Love you, friend!!

    • reneamac says:

      I know! It’s a little weird and completely fun! There are definitely parts that are better when you read them than when I read them in my, er, less dramatic voice. I love getting to hear the exact inflection you indended. I had to tear myself away from Windfall this morning already a little late for work. 🙂 Love to you!!

  5. Oh, and I’m reading The Veil by Cory Putman Oakes, The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, and a few others I’ve started, but am trying to wait on… 🙂

  6. wtrey says:

    Have you heard of “The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks”? Great read.

speak what you feel: leave a comment

