Flashback Friday: Emergents, Evangelicals, and Other Labels

I came across this today: A Lost Parable: “The Sugar of the Earth” and it reminded me of this:

“The Pharisee and the Publican”

The Pharisee stood and was praying to himself:
“God, I thank you that I am not like other people:
Emergents,
Democrats,
Anyone who isn’t just like me…
Or even like this Tax Collector.
I don’t fast.
And I don’t tithe.
But at least I don’t have tattoos or care about social justice.”

Then the Tax Collector,
standing quite some distance away,
prayed to himself:
“God, I thank you that I am not like other people:
Evangelicals,
Conservatives,
Anyone who isn’t just like me…
Or even like this Pharisee.
I don’t fast.
And I don’t tithe.
But at least I don’t drive an SUV or believe the Bible is actually true.”

And no one’s prayer was heard.
And the light was covered.
And the salt lost its saltiness.

This entry was posted in Flashback Friday, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

speak what you feel: leave a comment

