Risky Obedience

Hello, I have a question of obedience to God and honoring my parents. I was never raised in a Christian home. But I have asked for Jesus’ forgiveness and cleansing. Only this year have I become serious about God. I was introduced to an amazing church that is very close to my heart. I am apart of the youth. I have recently turned the age seventeen. With that, I have made close connections with friends at the youth. But I also find myself in love. He’s three years older than me. He is a die hard Christian and I repect him for it. My mother found out we were friends from a “friend” of mine and went balistic. I was not to talk to him ever again or see him. I know her concerns and I have been very opened minded about them. We are going out, have been going out for eight months now. We respect my mother’s wishes and barely ever talk. Maybe once a month we speak. I don’t see him very often either. I find myself struggling more and more with staying away from him. I just feel it isn’t enough. I’m trying to grow and let God mold me through this trial. But it seems I’m rejecting it. My obedience towards God is a tough one. I want to listen. I want to do what is right. Yet, I feel conviction a lot still. I appreciate any type of help. Thank you.

Hi Cassandra,

I’ve been thinking a lot about your letter. It’s tough to give very much advice because I only have a small picture of what’s going on, and there’s a lot going on. It would help to know what your mother’s concerns are.

The thing that keeps coming back to me, though, is that you said you feel like you’re rejecting God’s way by going out with this guy even though you hardly see him. If your relationship with this guy is negatively affecting your relationship with God in any way, then something’s gotta change. If the Holy Spirit is giving you that gut feeling that what you’re doing is wrong, prayerfully go with your gut. One thing I do know: Every time we reject the Spirit’s gentle nudging and convictions, it gets easier and easier to reject him and harder and harder to listen and do what is right.

One more thing comes to mind. Paul sums up his discussion of personal convictions in Romans 14 with this statement: “But if you have doubts about whether or not you should eat something, you are sinning if you go ahead and do it. For you are not following your convictions. If you do anything you believe is not right, you are sinning” (New Living). If this idea applies with issues that are a matter of personal conviction, how much more might it apply to the clearer issue of honoring one’s parents?

Rooting for you.
Renea

This entry was posted in Answers to Email and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

speak what you feel: leave a comment

